Current Events and Future Outlook

As I look at some of the headlines and Twitter topics the past few days, I am left with the following thoughts:

  • While I hope my daughter never follows in the ideological footsteps of Margaret Thatcher, I hope she leaves as big a footprint by the time she reaches the end of her life.
  • I hope that my daughter ends up with a life partner who loves her as much as the late Roger Ebert apparently loved his wife, Chaz.
  • I would not be bothered if my daughter were to be called the “best looking” high-ranking person in a government post by the president. Mainly because I assume she had to have talent to have gotten there in the first place and the president already knows that. (I jest a bit on this one, as I might be a little miffed at first, but really, I think the comment was a bit overreacted to)
  • I pray that my daughter never hates (nor is hated with) the white-hot crazy rancor that Kim Jung Un has for most of the rest of the world.

About Deacon Blue

Self-employed in a form of writing far less lucrative that what Stephen King or John Grisham does. Live in the U.S. and simultaneously love it, fear it, admire it and am dissappointed by it. I'm a Christian but my politics are "progressive" (a term which has as much meaning as "alternative rock," of which I am also a fan). I also believe in a nice cold pint of ale or beer (or two or three pints), I play computer games in which I do things I would never do in real life, I think Pulp Fiction is one of the best films ever made, I support socialized healthcare and a place for the death penalty, I consider my wife an equal partner, I speak to my kids rather than hitting them, I believe in the power of science as much as I do the power of faith, I think society is terribly slanted toward the rich and against everyone else, I think the justice system messes with minorities, and I think that using instant replays in officiating professional sports is a damned fool thing to do.

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Social issues/Current events. Bookmark the permalink. Comments Off on Current Events and Future Outlook.

Comments are closed.